"Let's Talk Celebrity Talent!"

December 10, 2013

Welcome to CELEBRITY REVIEWS and INTERVIEWS- By KK Ryder

Filed under: BIOGRAPHY — kkryder @ 1:00 AM


KK Ryder publicity pic black netted 2015
BIO:  

KK Ryder’s Celebrity Reviews & Interviews is a Celebrity Muti-Media Entertainment WordPress Weblog by On Camera/Radio Co-host, writer/actress/singer – songwriter and NSAI (Nashville Songwriters Association) San Fernando Valley chapter coordinator KK Ryder who has reviewed or interviewed the following Entertainers of Theatrical Stage Productions, Film, Music, Concerts & Comedy Shows, CD, DVD’S and more… Annette Bening, David Arquette, Robert Davi , Alan White (Yes) Roger Fisher (Heart), Matthew & Gunnar Nelson, Mac Davis, David Pack, Sam Andrew (Big Brother & the Holding Co.) , Sky Saxon (Seeds) Marge Raymond, Comic Michael Gelbart to mention a few, also one of her reviews helped Gretchen Christopher of the Legendary Doo-Wop 50’s-60’s group The Fleetwood’s pick up an award as Billboards critic’s pick for 10 best Album’s in 2007


December 9, 2013

JOHN BRAHENY “THE SONGWRITER’S BEST FRIEND”
 IS HONORED BY AWARD WINNING SONGWRITER STEPHEN BISHOP AND FRIENDS AT KULAK’S WOODSHED

The crisp night air on Cinco De Mayo 2013 was a very special evening to celebrate the life of John Braheny. Welcomed were 4 dozen lucky friends of John Braheny’s to enjoy a very private and intimate benefit concert with some talented hit songwriters and amazing friends and family. Friends, family and fans who could not attend due to the size of the venue tuned in to watch from their computers around the world!

John Braheny Photo credit Sherry BarnettJohn Braheny, lovingly referred to as “The Songwriter’s Best Friend” and author of the best selling book “The Craft and Business of Songwriting,” has left behind an inspiring and phenomenal legacy. John Braheny battled prostate cancer. In support of his final wishes, Michael Laskow and Dan Kimpel co-hosted an online webcast musical tribute as a fundraiser.  USC (University of Southern California) has expressed an interest in hosting a website for John’s LASS (Los Angeles Songwriters Showcase) archives of their abundant audio interviews articles and photos. There are also plans for an audio version and e-book of his book.

LASS (Los Angeles Songwriter's Showcase)  Len Chandler and John Braheny

LASS (Los Angeles Songwriter’s Showcase)
Len Chandler and John Braheny

We gathered at Kulak’s Woodshed in Los Angeles CA. for an online event benefit broadcast in John’s honor that included hit songwriters and performers whose careers were dramatically impacted by LASS, the organization that John co-founded with Len Chandler and co-directed. The night was full of music…and the room was filled with love. The performers were Stephen Bishop, Grammy and Oscar nominee for “Separate Lives,” “It Might Be You” from the movie “Tootsie,” “On and On,” and many more along with Dorian Holley, (The Tonight Show Band with Jay Leno, and Michael Jackson’s voice coach and friend for the “This Is It” tour), Allan Rich, who received a Grammy and Golden Globe nomination for “Run to You” from “The Bodyguard” for Whitney Houston, and multi-platinum songwriter Harold Payne, who co-wrote the Bobby Womack hit song “Daylight” with and for Womack and which Kelly Rowland of Destiny’s Child released the song as a hit single on her Ms. Kelly Diva Deluxe CD.

“JB” is the name John was lovingly referred to among John and JoAnn Braheny’s close friends and family. John is known as “the songwriter’s best friend,” For the sake of this article I will be referring to John Braheny as simply “JB.”

Kulak's Woodshed

Kulak’s Woodshed

Open up the doors to a little treasure chest, the greatest little “open club house” called Kulak’s Woodshed in North Hollywood CA. “Woodshedding”… is a term used by musicians everywhere to mean
‘I’m in a creative mode, we’re gearing up for tour…we are writing songs, we are trying out new songs, we are listening to songs”, etc.! Kulak’s has been that place to come share songs, from the major pros to the next big thing dreaming of their big break! Wow… to have a small TV studio run strictly by volunteers and a live audience plus a world audience who can tune-in and watch live performances…”hello” bonus!

I love stepping into a venue when a sound check is going on. It is such an exciting secret part of the evening. I witnessed Stephen Bishop on stage sitting down playing a very strange looking instrument called a Cue Chord. He was performing a great song called “New York in the 50’s.” A little line in the song that made my ears perk up and almost stopped my heart was “walking down an afterthought.” He warmly smiled at me when I complimented him on that line after his sound check. I also got to peek in on Harold Payne during his sound check. He added in JB’s name, which really set the mood for the love we would all feel throughout the night.

The stage was set and since the venue was so small, a few lucky friends of JB’s that have been deeply touched by him throughout the years picked their spots to enjoy the show. Some sat on comfy chairs you would find in your living room, a few lucky folks stretched out on a California King size bed, complete with big soft pillows, which would have made John Lennon and Yoko Ono proud!

Grabbing an oversize pillow, I chose a spot on the floor a little stage left where I was out of the way of the TV studio camera, which was on my right, and there, center stage in attendance throughout the performances, were three of the very closest people to JB, his wife JoAnn, his sister Mary, and Len Chandler, John’s partner with LASS. John’s spirit could be felt in every note played and every song sung by the magnificent talent and for those who turned on, tuned in, and dropped in on that very night. Kulak’s Woodshed became “our very own little miniature Woodstock” as Michael Laskow of Taxi described it. Looking around at the wide variety of oddities and little treasures on the walls, a rocking library and the number of LP’S hanging on the walls… were just so eye-popping!

Michael Laskow and Dan Kimpel were amazing Hosts and shared the fun as MC's

Michael Laskow and Dan Kimpel were amazing Hosts and shared the fun as MC’s

Michael Laskow (CEO of Taxi) and Dan Kimpel author, teacher, singer-songwriter were the hosts of the benefit. Taxi is known as the World’s Leading Independent A&R Company. I must note that JB was Taxi’s 1st consultant and a song critiquer on their staff from the beginning. Dan Kimpel, was a major coordinator for both JB’s memorial and, working together with Laskow, Paul Kulak and JoAnn, helped make the benefit an outstanding success. Both MC’s are long time pals of JB’s and JoAnn’s. They took turns as masters of ceremony in between acts, both personalities vibrant and attentive to the crowd as they answered the many e-mails coming in from various parts of the world…yes that’s correct, I said the world. JB’s love for the craft and business of songwriting can be felt everywhere on this big blue marble! It’s easy to see why he titled his 3 book editions just that, “The Craft and Business of Songwriting.”

Harold Payne rocked us gently with an acoustic set & audience participation

Harold Payne rocked us gently with an acoustic set & audience participation

Harold Payne set the mood for the evening as the first performer. He played a great acoustic set which included some audience participation. He gently rocked us with songs like “Don’t Worry About Me,” and very clever lyrics in “Pass It On”…if you can’t pay it back… than pass it on. “Music Speaks Louder than Words” was an audience participation song…Payne performed songs which I’m sure reached deep into the heart and souls of the TV studio audience in their kitchens, living rooms etc. Payne’s latest endeavor is teaming up once again with Bobby Womack, and let me tell you, the next song, “The Bravest Man in the Universe”, just hits you right in the gut with a cross between Native American and R&B vibe! Harold Payne is quite the performer.

Allen Rich gave us those "angels are clapping" goose bumps

Allan Rich gave us those “angels are clapping” goose bumps

The next performer took my breath away when he sang. Allan Rich made us feel as if we were in attendance back in the day at John and JoAnn’s wedding where he had performed the very touching song “And I Love You So”(Don Mclean). The first time I heard him sing this song was at JB’s memorial event which had taken place at the Concert Hall at the Musicians Institute in Los Angeles. The song at Kulak’s Woodshed was so beautifully accompanied on the piano by Marty Axelrod and left some of the audience a little teary-eyed. Allan Rich is not only an amazingly gifted songwriter but his voice moves you in such a precious way. He has a way of reaching you, the listener, to welcome those “angels are clapping” type chill bumps, the very same chill bumps that Whitney Houston made you feel when she sang “Run To You” on screen in the “The Bodyguard.” Allan Rich is a two-time Academy Award, Grammy and Golden Globe nominee whose songs have sold over 65 million copies. Allan Rich introduced his long time songwriting partner Jud Friedman who also co-wrote “Run To You” for Whitney Houston in which Allan sang beautifully from a place deep down in his soul.

Marty Axelrod played us some great original tunes on the piano

Marty Axelrod played a great original tune on the piano

He then turned the stage over to his accompanist, songwriter Marty Axelrod, Marty then played a really nice piece with a very catchy hook, “Smokey, Where are You Now, (We Really Need a Miracle).”  I was captivated by his songwriting. I searched YouTube and found two more little gems that he played at Kulak’s and he did not disappoint. “She Makes Me Crazy She Makes Me Laugh” made me cry, and “Small Potatoes” was a cute song. Then Allan performed “For the First Time”, a song written for the movie “One Fine Day” starring Michelle Pfeiffer and George Clooney. The song is a collaboration between himself, Jud Friedman and James Newton Howard.

The next song  which James Ingram is known for, “I Don’t Have the Heart”, was so sweet and so sad that Allan was given a great compliment by hit vocalist Luther Vandross. “I have to turn that song off cuz it’s just so baaaad!” (He meant that in a good way!) Then we were gently soothed with a touching song which Allan dedicated to JB called “That’s How I Feel About You.” It was a beautiful moment when Allan pointed upward to the sky ending his set with such an “I love you my friend” feeling.

Michael Laskow reading  an e-mail from another Country!

Michael Laskow reading
an e-mail from another Country!

As I said before, this little club has an atmosphere like none other. In between performers the two hosts, Kimpel and Laskow, checked the TV screen as someone yelled out “we have an e-mail!” I believe this one was from Australia and I believe another came in from the Midwest. JB’s friendship and legacy reaches so far across the world. The comments poured out love to John and JoAnn and made very sweet comments about the performers of the evening.

Dorian Holley and jazz guitarist Roberto Montero

Dorian Holley and jazz guitarist Roberto Montero

The next performer (also a LASS alumnus) you may have seen as the lead singer in the Tonight Show Band with Jay Leno, or you possibly have caught one of his shows with his own band, The Dorian Holley Band. Dorian Holley had the amazing privilege of voice-coaching Michael Jackson for his “This Is It” tour. Holley takes the stage with his accompanist Roberto Montero who was on jazz acoustic guitar, Holley wearing camo pants, a tan military ammo belt, and a shirt as blue as a California Dreaming sky. He started his set with a great song about his father called “Just One Dance.” It was a jazzy song that had a “celebration of life” feel to it.

The next song had an introspective lyric line that really caught my attention, “Gonna fly down and land in love.” The song was so beautiful and on the last note it was as if he were gliding down on those wings of love. He did small inviting loop de loops with his voice and you can certainly tell why he was Michael Jackson’s voice coach. The crowd snapped their fingers along with the next song, Michael Jackson’s “Human Nature.” As soon as Holley sang the lyric line… “Looking out” you knew what song was going to fill the air with love. You can’t do that song in a room full of songwriters and singers and not get some harmonizing buzzing throughout the room. Holley and Montero smiled throughout the set and Holley’s instrument… his voice and the jazziness of Montero’s guitar… were great compliments to each other as performers.

Stephen Bishop played an amazing set with Jim Wilson on keyboards

Stephen Bishop played an amazing set with Jim Wilson on keyboards

Last up was Stephen Bishop, accompanied by Jim Wilson on keyboard. If you ever see Stephen Bishop strap on his guitar…get ready for a retro-good time! As Dick Clark said, “Music is the soundtrack of our lives.” Bishop has been helping to provide that soundtrack since 1977 with his first major hit, “On and On,” (first presented at LASS) and several others throughout the decades. “It Might Be You” from “Tootsie” and “Separate Lives” sung by Phil Collins and Marilyn Martin from the movie “White Nights,”

How many remember the smash hit “Animal House?” The IMDB cast list reads as follows: John Belushi, Kevin Bacon, Donald Sutherland and…I even caught the name… Stephen Bishop, “charming guy with guitar” love it! So true, the falsetto voice that you hear in the theme song of the movie is none other than the charming guy with the guitar who took the stage at Kulak’s and a long time friend of John and JoAnn’s.

Stephen Bishop played an amazing set with Jim Wilson on keyboards

Stephen Bishop played an amazing set with Jim Wilson on keyboards

Stephen was quite engaging and, yes, charming with the audience. He told us a cute story where a woman kind of recognized him in a grocery store and said “oh I just love that song that you sing… “Short People.” He got a chuckle from the audience on that one and then he talked about when he first moved to LA. John and Len Chandler were so supportive, helpful and friendly through the years. He would see JB at different events. He said “It was always great seeing him. John will really be missed.” He then said he wanted to do this next song for John and as soon as you heard Wilson hit that first measure on the keyboards you knew the song “It Must Be You” from the soundtrack of  “Tootsie!”

Stephen Bishop played "New York in the 50's" on the Cue Chord

Stephen Bishop played “New York in the 50′s” on the Cue Chord

He performed a song called “Vacant” and then said “this is the experimental part of the show” and sat down with his Cue Chord and played a song called “New York in the 50’s.” I thought it was cute that his keyboardist was making memories of the night by taking a few pictures of “Bish,” as he’s referred to by his circle of friends. The song was really great, but I just have to say Bishop’s socks that showed when he was sitting down playing that very unusual and kewl sounding instrument really said what was felt in the room … one of the words on the socks… LOVE and at this benefit for JB there was so much of it. I heard one of the girls in the crowd whisper “He just sings from his soul,” and that he does!

Then the “charming guy with the guitar” said that he was nominated for an Academy Award but Lionel Richie won for “Say You, Say Me say I’m gonna steal Steve’s award, you know that song” as he chortled with the crowd. And then we were taken back to one of the soundtracks of our lives as we were caught up in the love of “Separate Lives” once more.

Bishop ended his set with the song that first introduced us to his fantastic “ear catching voice”…”On and On.” It was awesome!

 Stephen Bishop,Dorian Holley & Jim Wilson

Stephen Bishop,Dorian Holley & Jim Wilson

All of the sets of the evening were fantastic. The performers all played from their hearts and really made lots of new friends and fans throughout the night. They were very engaging and took pictures, signed a few autographs, and the benefit was a huge success.

Dorian Holley and Dan Kimpel

Dorian Holley and Dan Kimpel

Donations are still coming in. If you would like to donate to this endeavor (and thank you to those who have already done so) you may do so via Paypal to JoAnn Braheny. You may also send a check, made out to the John Braheny Legacy Fund, to JoAnn Braheny, PO Box 5715, Sherman Oaks, CA 91413. Donations of any size are most appreciated. JoAnn’s e-mail is JoAnn@johnbraheny.com  There is a Facebook page “Friends of John Braheny.” John’s legacy is of worldwide proportions … his books, music and his teachings will live on!

One last and final word before letting you read some heartfelt thoughts and feelings about JB from a few of his really close friends…. Congratulations are in order to Nic Monaco who received the 2013 California Copyright Conference John Braheny Scholarship Award! Congratulations also to Paul Otten for winning the first ever John Braheny Excellence In Songwriting Award at the 17th annual Taxi Road Rally Nov. 2013. In the words of Dr. Maya Angelou. “People will forget what you say and people will forget what you do, but nobody forgets the way you make them feel.” John Braheny, known as “The Songwriter’s Best Friend,” will forever make people feel as his legacy lives “On and On.”

About the author: I was introduced to John and JoAnn’s amazing loving world through Doak Turner in Nashville of The Nashville Muse. I too am an ASCAP songwriter as well as an NSAI (Nashville Songwriters Assoc. International) chapter coordinator for the new chapter in San Fernando Valley Southern California. I’m an actress, singer-writer living in the LA area and if John were here today I would give him a hug and thank him for all that he has done for the songwriting world…he was amazing and now we can all feel that amazement and his spirit alive and well through his heartfelt legacy…thank you JB for being a songwriters best friend!

Review Piece by KK Ryder   818-495-5395

http://kkryderentertainmentreviews.wordpress.com e

Nice words from Friends of JoAnn and John Braheny:

Bart Herbison, Executive Director National Songwriters Association California Songwriters Assn.
Nashville Songwriters Assn. International Texas Songwriters Assn.

John Braheny was a very special man, one of a kind really. He always put others first. In a music industry often themed by “what can you do for me” attitudes, John always wanted to know what he could do for you! Perhaps my last conversation with John, just a few days before he passed away, was most illustrative. He said that he did not want to talk about himself or his situation even for one second. He simply told me to tell every songwriter to never give up on their dream.

Through giving his time and attention to so many songwriters through the years John earned the title, “The Songwriter’s Best Friend.” And he truly was. There were many notable writers and artists that credited John’s help as important in their respective career paths including: Stevie Nicks, Lindsay Buckingham, Janis Ian, Warren Zevon, Stephen Bishop, Karla Bonoff, Wendy Waldman and Dianne Warren just to mention a few.

All of those amazing writers and artists would agree with me. His mentoring was important. but his friendship was invaluable. We will miss you John.

Pamela Phillips Oland- Award Winning Hit Songwriter and author of “The Art of Writing Great Lyrics” & “The Art of Writing Great Love Songs”

As the memorial comments started pouring in for John, I read them with a sort of wonder. It was a real education in how far reaching a human being’s impact can be on this world. John’s admirers numbered in the thousands, from all over the world. And I suppose each of us thought of him as someone special in our own life. His communication gift was such that he made each of us feel the center of the universe when he spoke with us. What a capacity for love, caring, wisdom, and friendship he clearly had. And the odd thing is that although he’s gone, it’s as if he’s still among us, a measure of his powerful spirit.

Doak Turner- Songwriter, “The Nashville Muse” & “Music Starts Here” an online GPS for music industry professionals,songwriters,artists and more.    

John Braheny -­‐ means the world to me and my songwriting. His first book got me on track of what to do with my songs, 2nd one kept me on and was the reason we met in Nashville which led to a great friendship with him, JoAnn and many of their friends. Many times, John gave me inspiration to stay on my songwriting journey and I am grateful for his books and most of all -­‐ his great friendship and knowledge he shared with me and my brothers & sister songwriters!

The fact he quoted me on the back of his Third Edition and on one of the pages -­‐ was a dream come true for me. John Braheny will always be one of my all time favorite people in this world!

 

 

Steven McClintock – Award winning Hit Songwriter / Artist

CEO of 37 Records and The Host of “The Songwriter” a webcast series

 

I was in town for only ONE DAY from Texas…and got to play at the Improv with the LASS songwriter night sponsored by BMI. Len and John introduced my duo, Fertitta and McClintock, with glorious praise.  All I could think about was, “why did that say that?”  Yikes!!

The minute we were done, BMI President, Ron Anton and his VP both came up and asked us to sign to BMI…that they would get me in doors to publishers.

I DID and they did….6 months later I signed with Island Music and Arista Records.  Because of John and LASS, I have been blessed with a career doing what I love.

Thanks John… Steven

Paul Zollo- Author – “Songwriters on Songwriting” & Blue Railroad Magazine

In an industry where competition is built into every single day, JB was remarkable because he was content not to compete. Though he and I both wrote books on songwriting, he recognized from the start, with great generosity of spirit, that there’s room in the world for both books and for both authors and rather than compete with me, he supported and celebrated my work. That is the kind of guy he was. He truly loved songs and songwriters and worked not just for his personal advancement, but for the progress of all. He also emphasized that a serious songwriter is a scholar, and he forever shared his love of all kinds of books with me and others. I find it comforting, in these days since his passing, that I can commune with his books. He left his entire library even the very shelves to The Songwriting School of L.A., which is in Burbank. If you want to spend some time with JB, this is a great way to do it: spend time with his books.

Dan Kimpel – teacher, singer-songwriter and author of “It All Begins with the Music: Developing Artists and Careers for the Music Business” and many industry books     

John validated us, supported us: confirmed that we were not crazy for having these creative passions. And when he was asked what he wanted us to do for him, said, “Just Use What I Taught You.”

Sterling Howard – Musicians Contact        

I would definitely remember John as a person who never shied away from any person’s question, he always answered very completely and with utmost interest. I remember the very first Songwriters Expo, it was held outside on the grounds of Sacred Heart, (or is it Immaculate Heart?), school at Western and Franklin in Hollywood, about 1977. Our booth was right next to the Music Connection booth, a magazine which had just started. I became friends with the owner of Music Connection, Eric Bettelli, and we have been best friends ever since. So without John, we may have never met!

Robert Miles – (Smokey AKA Count Smokula) songwriter-artist and interviewing Host

John was a wonderful, cheerful man who was always there to help out songwriters and give them knowledge and advice. I knew him from working at the Los Angeles Songwriters Showcase, which was my first job in LA selling advertising for the Musepaper. After that we kept in touch for many years. We’d jam together and hang out at the Santa Monica Farmer’s Market on Sundays. He was always ready to sit in and play his fiddle at many parties and jam sessions.

Jim Wilson-Guest Performer of the evening

I loved John and we had many spirited conversations about the craft of songwriting. He was an inspiration to me a beacon of integrity and a stellar example of what a life of selfless service looks like.

Dorian Holley-Guest Performer of the evening

I love that no matter your status, be it beginner or veteran with song placements, John and Len always had time to meet with you personally and give advice. They must have heard a billion horrible songs, but they were always encouraging and inspired people to go on. I have no doubt that relationships I formed at Songwriters Showcase led me to where I am today.

Harold Payne-Guest Performer of the evening

I met JB through his involvement with LASS. I would always receive one on one attention. If John heard you settle for an idea he would call it a settler and if he heard a truly original idea JB would say “that’s a pioneer!”

****

Please enjoy this beautiful tribute in celebration of Johns life with a video and song by Frances Gorman

December 6, 2013

RICKY NELSON REMEMBERED – Starring Matthew and Gunnar Nelson

Filed under: CONCERT REVIEWS — kkryder @ 10:45 PM
Tags: , , , , , ,


Picture sitting in the audience where a screen comes down and you feel like you are part of an amazing time warp of rock and roll through the years of 1952-1966 nostalgia style, you are watching clips of The ADVENTURES OF OZZIE AND HARRIET SHOW. On the screen you see clips of Ozzie and Harriet starring the real life Nelson family and little Ricky Nelson as he grew in to his teen age years. This of course was “back in the day” when the first TV Dad named Ozzie was Ozzie Nelson not the other Ozzy, the Dark Prince whom we all grew to love for his way out wacky n way kewl rock n roll family!

Kris Kristofferson said in one of the clips that at the time Elvis was the King but Ricky Nelson, was the Crown Prince of rock and roll! Then the screen goes up and the rock and roll Sons of three Nelson generations billed as “Ricky Nelson remembered Tour starring Matthew and Gunnar Nelson and the Stone Canyon Band” capture your attention. They came armed with some great songs and after one of the clips, they twanged a rock-a-billy style number MILK COW BLUES and then toned it down with FOOLS RUSH IN. Not only was the music Primo but Their stylish good looks were also captivating, gone is the long blonde “After the Rain” glam metal rockin’ hair (which they so generously donated to LOCKS OF LOVE in the late 90′s) but rockin in the memory of thier Dad before you are two stylish Nelson Brother…twins but not like the “Double mint gum” commercial twins…no way, these guys each have Their own style goin on! Gunnar went for more the retro look, wearing a light blue shirt and light brown dress pants with light blue pin stripes and sported an all American boy hair cut and his rock n roll “weapon of choice” he came armed with, was a white Fender Strat, where as Matthew rocked the stage with a Fender Precision yellow and white chipped “Oh the stories we could tell ya” kind of lookin’ bass guitar and he was  rockin the doo, shoulder length blonde and was “Johnny Cash” style on top and Rolling Stones Leather on the bottom!

The introduction to the band was really sweet and funny the 2nd guitarist was playing thee guitar that was used by Bobby Lewis on TOSSIN AND TURNIN, and the Brothers joked about how at the airport the flight Attendant wanted them to check Their guitars and they were like ummmm we don’t think so and, well they only look warn out n beaten down but they sure won’t harm anyone! So guess what?… they didn’t have to check em, she found a spot to keep their guitars safe!

We were introduced to the GOOD twin and the BAD Twin. Gunnar being the bad twin comically annouced, harassing his brother, that just in case we had been wondering about Mathews shoulder length blonde locks he “said no, this is not Ellen Degeneres up here, it’s just Matthew my brother!”

Who had Mama Cass for a baby sitter and George Harrison as a next door neighbor growing up? The Nelson twins thats who! One of the clips was laugh out loud hilarious, it was the twins rockin out with their first guitars hangin with the family in their diapers and when the screen went back up the “bad”twin says “Nobody rocked Huggies like the Nelson Brothers!

The crowd took pictures here and there of the show before them and then it was a “flash-fest” when Gunnar announced ” that Their show had no policy about taking pictures and they aimed to be the “Grateful Dead” of the Casino industry.

There were a lot of truly touching moments in the show and the Nelson’s really showed their own singer-songwriter style from the bottom of their hearts as they sang a song, that makes them think about their Dad called Just Once More the song gave you those “angels are clapping” type goosebumps and brought some of the crowd to tears as they rose to their feet for a standing ovation!

The bands harmony throughout Ricky Nelson Remembered show was incredible, they even talked about the ol vinyl 45′s how there was an A side usually which was the hit and the B side which was the orphen song, the screen came back down and you see Dad “Ricky” sing Travelin Man and then the band gently rocked the crowd with the same song and then they said now, let’s flip the record over to the B side and you could hear the crowd sing along with it and you could hear whistles from all the way in the back of the venue as they sang hello mary lou!

Then they showed some clips from Rio Bravo and Gunnar told a really funny Angie Dickenson story where Angie had Matthew all a fluster and she came up to him and said “Yo Daddy was a Hell of a man!” Gunnar throws up two thumbs and a proud smile and says…..”Yeah Pop!” When the clip of Garden Party with Ricky came on, the crowd was stirring because they knew what song they were going to see live and the crowd stood up and began to applaud as if thanking the Nelson Brothers and the Stone Canyon band for bringing us to their Garden Party!

As you can see the show was a sentimental journey, full of Life, Love and laughter both  on the stage and screen, cameo appearances on the screen were by Sir Paul Mcartney, Chris Isaac, John Fogerty, Sam Phillips the man from Sun Records and even the Rhodes scholar himself Kris Kristofferson  and we were truly Blessed to see some true talent on stage as we all captured in our hearts  Ricky Remembered.

The Nelson Brothers and thier band did an awesome job of putting on a kewl show paying deep musician respect and love for thier dad the whole audience was touched when Gunnar said “To me Dad is still on tour and I am just waiting for his suitcase to hit the landing”.

December 5, 2013

MAD MAC SHARES STAGE WITH ROCKIN – ROWDY NASHVILLE PALS

Filed under: CONCERT REVIEWS — kkryder @ 6:05 AM

A Nashville review on the Mac Davis, Jeffrey Steele, Chuck Cannon and David Pack show March 29th 2006 by kk ryder

Whew hoo! What a party! Ok, ok I know that there were some great rounds to go to in Nashville on March 29th but the one that I choose to go to was brought to you by TIN PAN SOUTH’S own & NSAI (Nashville s Songwriter s Association International) at THIRD AND LINDSLEY. We were there to see the Mac Davis/Jeffrey Steele/Chuck Cannon/David Pack songwriters showcase.

My new NSAI songwriting friends and I stood in the TPS pass line and we anxiously waited for the first show to clear out. Our line started moving and we were reminiscing about our favorite Mac Davis songs & just the fact that Jeffrey Steele,Chuck Cannon and David Pack from Ambrosia would be kickin’ out their hits too was a major buzz!

Once inside & past all of the reserved seats  for NSAI staffers, Gibson Guitars and friends we took a seat stage left, ordered our drinks, someone said something funny about a shirt I was wearing and all of us being songwriters at our table, before the start of the show were so inspired to start a 4-way co-write.

A drink was spilled on our table and the bartender had givin me a stack of napkins and thus started a very unplanned review of one of the best rounds  I have ever rocked out with  ever!

The show rocked, rolled (once Chuck Cannon nearly rolled off his seat with laughter from a comment that Mac had made & ok well there was a lot of humorous banter going back and forth on stage & there were jokes jokes and more jokes that flailed around to all in the hot seats  & ah but the music & not to sound cheesy, but yes Mac… I Believe in Music  and for the filled to the capacity & standing room only THIRD and LINDSLEY crowd we were entertained and all believed in the music that provided the very electrifying night!

Chuck Cannon kicked off the show with his Toby Keith hit We were in love  and just to tell ya how cool Nashville is at TPS time Chuck s co-writer on this song Allen Shamblin was down the road playing at another round. When Chuck got through with his song He let out a deep sigh I think this is one of the coolest things ever and man… he called Mac his hero. Mac turned out a real rib tickler  in true Mac Davis form he sang a song like a bat outta hell & Here I come back from the dead  He said if he ever needed to make a comeback that s what the song would’ve been & I say, you can’t come back if you never really left Mac & You still rock! Then Jeffrey Steele erupted the crowd with one of his many Montgomery Gentry hits Help Somebody  and then it was David Pack’s turn of the harmonizing mystifying band from the 70′s Ambrosia  fame- he said he felt like the black sheep of the family  cuz he was behind the keyboards and from the stage you heard one of the other players say but we loved him tearin’ up the stage singing and you’re the Baaaaaaaaaaaaad Sheep!  He may of said he felt like the black sheep but he traded off songs in this round like nobody s business & his voice is incredible!

More jokes ensued as if you were watching the Blue collar comedy team  only in musical format! Mac busted through with a slow cool ballad that touched the crowd and me ok I ll admit it as a teen- ager in the 70′s I would hole up in my room alone and sit amongst the pops and clicks of my Kenwood stereo listening to Mac Davis albums! Then Mr. Jeffrey Steele hit us with a freshly penned tongue n cheek groove about a Drunk Girl (he s just such a lean mean writing machine these days! (oh whoops wasn’t that the title for the JS/co-writin  Rascal Flats hit?) He s everywhere…but on this particular night myself and a standing room only crowd were amongst the lucky in Nashville to experience this rare occurrence all of this under one very rockin  roof located at the 3rd and Lindsley Bar and Grill. Mac even shared with us his very first song he ever wrote, which was a touching little song I Like You, then he made the crowd laugh and sing along on the chorus of that extremely humbling  song from the 70 s OOOOOOOOh Lord it s hard to be humble

! Then Mr. JS unleashed his Larger than life Montgomery Gentry hit Gone crowd participation ensued! Then David Pack played us all a song on guitar that he was embarrassed to bring to his band but what a smash hit it became the whole crowd was singing along, the song was- How Much I Feel.

 Then Chuck shared a new song with us from his new cd. Mac s turn- Lubbock In The Rearview Mirror ahhh, then JS takes us back to his younger years and let s loose with his emotional story song 20 Years Ago .

I had to take a potty break and wait in line so I missed the last couple songs & then I heard a guy and girl outside of the bathroom door arguing over which version of Mac Davis  In the Ghetto was better- Elvis or Mac’s!I came out grooved on some more songs & JS started to play a familiar Led Zepp tune and we heard a little voice from the audience stage right yell something out & and we were all treated to an impromtu duet of Something in the Water  by the vocal stylings of a cute little blonde firecracker named Bekka Bramlett (her daddy Delaney Bramlett and Mac Davis were stage sharing, song writing partners from back in the day and probably still are!)

Then David Pack raised the roof with his Angelically Male falseto voice when he reached the chorus of Make a Wish Baby  Then Chuck kept the emotional train running with his Victoria Shaw co-written I Love the Way You Love Me  recorded by John Michael Montgomery, to which Mac puts his hand under his shirt and pats his heart! Then Mac jokes about his T.V.show back in the 1970 s where he used to make up silly songs on the spot from the audience suggestions and he played a few of his favorites, then he hit us with the Motherload  the song that put Mac over the top & the song that to this day still hooks us in and keeps us coming back for more – Baby Don’t  Get Hooked on Me  after he let us have it for old times sake with that one the other players in the show-down of songwriters kinda just threw up their arms in defeat! Chuck Cannon picked up a yellow piece of paper with the set list on it and just started pickin  songs for Mac to play!

I still get chills thinking  back on the whole evening, it was both inspirational for all of the songwriters in the room attending this very cool performance as well as just a fun time hangin’ out with Mad Mac and his Rockin’ rowdy Rebel friends! Thanx Ya’ll for the memories…we’re Hooked on all of you!

cd review by KK Ryder http://kkryderentertainmentreviews.wordpress.com/

December 3, 2013

THE SONGWRITER’S SURVIVAL KIT -by 4 great NASHVILLE WRITERS

HELP! Somebody call 911 my SONGWRITING needs FIRST AID!

Has this ever been YOU?! Songwriter’s? Help is here! You can get it in the form of a CD House call!

   THE SONGWRITERS SURVIVAL KIT is a double CD and is such an amazing first aid for songwriters needing a little 101 course on the craft of songwriting and or a little 102 refresher course for those of you that already know the basics and would like to get into the real heart of the matter of songwriting do’s and don’t!

THERE is HELP for your SONGWRITING!…Check out this Amazing KIT on CD from the PRO’S!!

 This CD is compiled of great tips from 4 outstanding Professional’s in the craft of songwriting! Tony-nominated songwriters and Co-Founders of http://www.SongU.com, Songwriting Courses Online DANNY ARENA and SARA LIGHT as well as songwriter performing artist and one of the performers in the musical Troupe THE FOUR BITCHIN BABES, NANCY MORAN www.nancymoran.com and outstanding independent producer FETT owner of Azalea studios >www.azaleamusic.com in NASHVILLE, have all come together and are actually sharing these tips with you, not in a workshop, but you can learn in the privacy of your own home or on your commute home from work at your own pace!

Maybe you want to hone your craft because you always dreamed about someday hearing your songs on the radio sung by a big name artist, maybe you are an artist yourself and you just want to learn how to write songs better or maybe you can’t play an instrument, can’t sing your way out of a paper bag, but you ve always been a great lyricist/melody writer and you think you could have what it takes, if you just had some helpful hints and tips to help you along on your songwriting journey!

Do you know how to use good prosody, or how to make every line count?  You have heard about re-writing… but what is it and are you willing to do it? how do you choose a point of view? Do you know how to match the level  of the demo to your purpose and the state  of the song? Did you know you don t have to spend a fortune to get a great demo and how to use the demo once it s done, or do you know how to be aware of your performance when you write? In other words, do you know the rules before you break them? What does that mean? You ask, and how do I find out about all of this and much more?

If you have a yearn to learn more about your songwriting craft than this is the CD for you! An outstanding in depth review was written about this CD by Doak Turner songwriter, associate writer for Music Dish and editor/publisher of the NASHVILLE MUSE by clicking the following link you can read all about this amazing helpful songwriting tool! www.nashvillemuse.com/resources_artical.html THE SONGWRITER S SURVIVAL KIT is definitely First aid that no songwriter should live without. So songwriter’s, if you eat sleep and breathe songwriting you can breathe a little easier now…because, help is on the way! To order your copy please visit any of the websites mentioned in this article and enjoy your songwriting journey and the fruits of your labor along the way!

CD review by KK Ryder http://kkryderentertainmentreviews.wordpress.com/

December 15, 2011

Robert Davi’s single- MISTLETOE & HOLLY is spreading LOVE through CHARITY

Filed under: CD REVIEWS (MUSIC - COMEDY - SPOKEN WORD) — kkryder @ 5:25 PM

Robert Davi’s traditional holiday single- MISTLETOE & HOLLY really took me back to the big band sounds of the kind of music Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers once kicked up their dancing shoes too! It’s swinging, fun and upbeat. Davi’s voice is great as he covers this Sinatra classic signature tune recorded by ole blue eyes in 1957 !!! How could you not love lyrics like “Oh by gosh…by golly!” I think the whimsical lyrics are really true American traditional memory triggers like trimming the tree, overeating, relatives and who can’t remember the smell of “grandma’s pies” – 100% of the proceeds go towards the SALVATION ARMY! (review on Amazon by KK Ryder)

Click to download MP3 of ROBERT DAVI’S- MISTLETOE & HOLLY 

November 23, 2011

Davi Sings Sinatra-On The Road To Romance Hits Top 10 on the Billboard Charts

Filed under: CD REVIEWS (MUSIC - COMEDY - SPOKEN WORD) — kkryder @ 11:22 PM

Davi Sings Sinatra-On The Road To Romance Hits Top 10 on the Billboard Charts

By KK Ryder

 Robert Davi an American/Italian Entertainer pays tribute to the legendary Frank Sinatra- The Great American Songbook and America with a new album climbing the Billboard charts in the top 10 Traditional Jazz category.

 Known- for his hard, tough side in many villainous roles, starring in such films as Die Hard, James Bond License to Kill, The Goonies and Showgirls to name a few.

 Unknown- to most, is this amazing singer with the softer side we now see. Robert Davi pays homage to Frank Sinatra who hand-picked Davi as a young up and coming actor to share the screen in his first starring role…”Contract on Cherry Street” which was nominated for Best TV Feature/Miniseries at the 1978 Edgar Awards and thus Davi’s Film career was born.

If it hadn’t been for that “divine intervention” We might have all been introduced first to Robert Davi the singer.  We are now- and America…”Your Great American Songbook” is about to be re-opened and share the spotlight through the vocal talents of Robert Davi.

Davi Sings Sinatra-On The Road To Romance is a collection of Romantic love songs once made popular by the Legendary Frank Sinatra.

 Recorded at Capital records with a 30 piece orchestra and under the guides of legendary producer Phil Ramone we now get to hold close at heart- these songs once again.

 Davi has captivated live audiences in choice venues from New York to California with a collection of songs from his new album aptly titled, Davi Sings Sinatra- On The Road To Romance- A Tribute to Sinatra- The Great American Songbook and America.

 The album is beautiful and romantic with the rich colorful tones and smooth singing style of Robert Davi. Such Sinatra favorite hits from the Great American Songbook as “World on a String” “Day In Day Out” “Witchcraft” to name a few sure should please the listener of any age! One of my very favorites, that seems to tug a little more at my heartstrings upon each listening was surprising enough “Summer Wind” the free flowing “shuffle like” ballad, when I usually prefer the up-beat songs.

 I highly recommend this CD… “let’s fall in love” with Robert Davi as he begins his journey into a successful career as a singer… On his… Road To Romance!

For more, visit

www.davisingssinatra.com

November 12, 2011

KK Ryder with Country Music Legend DAVID BALL and Hit Songwriter THOM SHEPHERD on stage and then interview on Ryman Steps about PRIVATE MALONE 2008

November 7, 2011

Woodstick 2010 K.K. Ryder, w/ Kenny Aronoff, Frankie Banali, & Bryan Hitt. P1

KK Ryder with- celebrity drummers from QUIET RIOT,REO SPEEDWAGON and the amazing KENNY ARONOFF,Yes…that is the most awesome ALAN WHITE (YES)(IMAGINE) in the background!

November 3, 2011

The Story Behind my very First Review:

Filed under: Uncategorized — kkryder @ 8:56 AM


Being a Music Family Member in Seattle, Nashville, Chi-Town and visiting Los Angeles frequently, has really helped me spread my “social butterfly” wings and fly as a creative writer, I found a hidden passion of mine where I could actually help promote my friends! I have been keeping an on-going journal for almost 25 years and have always loved being an entertainer as well as supporting friends in their art, My journey began with a great book by Paul Zollo- “Songwriter’s on Songwriting” I loved the way he wrote interviews, I thought.. I hope someday I could write reviews and conduct interviews in the “chill” way that he did!! 51XHDX43BXL._SY344_PJlook-inside-v2,TopRight,1,0_SH20_BO1,204,203,200_
A NW band in Tacoma called the FABULOUS WAILERS…who incedently were the first NorthWest band to record LOUIE LOUIE! (check their site for the story!) Buck Ormsby had givin’ me one of their cd’s to iisten to in 2006, it had been released in 2002 however, as a friend, he said… “here listen to this…and tell me what you think”, I did and LOVED IT, We were talking on the phone and I was pouring out my feelings on the individual tracks- Buck said…. “KK why don’t you just write us a review?” I thought…”I CAN DO THAT!” and folks- as they say…. “the rest is History!
d3436bfc173e251a
   Below are a few Celebrity Reviews and some Interviews on some friends I would like to share with you…Please enjoy the following reviews; Annette Bening and David Arquette in Female of the Species at the Geffen, the Actor who played RALPHIE in A CHRISTMAS STORY Peter Billingsley’s produced the stage play of A CHRISTMAS STORY and I was invited to the 5th Ave. theater is Seattle! AMERICAN ITALIAN ACTOR ROBERT DAVI had his first directorial debut THE DUKES, the movie was so entertaining and laugh outloud hillarious and touching in parts…that I knew I HAD to REVIEW the movie (and I didn’t even know who he was! Goonies,Die Hard James Bond) I just knew…that what I was watching was GREAT!
, WHITE “(A cd release party of a new cool rock band with Alan White of YES fame keepin’ the beat!) THE FABULOUS WAILER’S (CD) (50′s-60′s rock and roll band…thier totally hot cd) * MAC DAVIS *JEFFREY STEELE *CHUCK CANNON *DAVID PACK (in the round Nashville show)
Chuck Cannon (major Nashville hit songwriter and really kewl artist) his cd is 
Love & Money
LEON HENDRIX KEEPER OF THE FLAME CD (He’s a cool bluesy rocker and Jimi’s brother…just keepin’ the flame alive) GRETCHEN CHRISTOPHER (CD) SWEET SIXTEEN” (She’s one of the songbirds from The Fleetwoods) 4TH ANNUAL GUITARBQ (NASHVILLE MUSE) BABY GRAMPS, MICHAEL GELBART (COMEDY CD) Theater in Los Angeles, I enjoy attending all medias of entertainment, because after allVARIETY IS THE SPICE OF LIFE! Excuse me while I go spread my social butterfly wings…I’m off to the next entertaining event!! 
Next Page »

The Rubric Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.